Retail Business Holidays

Taken from

Mandatory retail business closures on holidays

The Retail Business Holidays Act says retail businesses in Ontario must be closed on the following nine holidays each year:

      1. New Year’s Day (January 1)
      2. Family Day (the third Monday of February)
      3. Good Friday (the Friday before Easter Sunday – typically in March or April)
      4. Easter Sunday (typically in March or April)
      5. Victoria Day (the last Monday before or on May 24)
      6. Canada Day (July 1 – if July 1 is a Sunday, the mandatory closure moves to the following Monday)
      7. Labour Day (the first Monday in September)
      8. Thanksgiving Day (the second Monday in October)
      9. Christmas Day (December 25)

But there are exceptions this.

To find more information about the exceptions, please click here.

Social Share Buttons and Icons powered by Ultimatelysocial